ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF EARDISLAND VILLAGE HALL MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE (EVHMC) 16th August 2017

Present: Caroline Marsden (CM) Acting Chair, Bob Aldred (BA) Kate Thompson (KT) Jo South (JS) Edwin Thompson (ET) Carole Millin(CMN). Diane Lee (DL) Minutes.

Member of the public; Tony Phillips.

Apologies: Chris Watson (CW) Steph Griffiths (SG) Maryan Hanson (MH). (Parish Council representative) EPC.

Chair's Annual Report

This year we have welcomed Diane Lee as Minutes Secretary and Carole Millin as a Trustee and recently Bob Lee and Tony Phillips to assist with the renovation programme.

Caroline Marsden took over as Acting Chair from Chair Kate Thompson in November 2016.

Grants from Severn Waste Environmental Fund, Awards for All (lottery) and the Rowlands Trust totalling £21512.00 have been obtained towards refurbishment of the toilet block.

Once again we held a Disco on New Year's Eve, which was a very enjoyable night.

In conjunction with the Parish Council we have held two consultation events, with the aim of involving parishioners in the future of Village Hall and the level of facilities expected. The results of these are being taken forward with the aim of laying foundations for increased occupancy of hall by making it more user-friendly.

This year our overwhelming concern has been to maintain fundraising impetus, culminating in the above grants for toilet improvements, while not losing sight of the need to maintain the standards of service and hygiene attained over the last 3 years.

Diane and Carole have been instrumental in formulating documentation for health and safety and charity commission compliance and this is programmed to be worked on over the next few months. Diane has also put in place some practical measures to improve health and safety.

Chris Watson has done sterling work liaising with the electricity and power suppliers and has also initiated the sub group dealing with building renovations and general maintenance.

One member of the committee (Jo South) now has DBS (Disclosure and Barring Service) certification to allow us to host events where unaccompanied children and vulnerable adults may be present. It is hoped that a second member of the committee will also proceed to certification.

Steph Griffiths made and donated a wooden clock, which has been hung in the main hall.

The Parish Council paid for the supply and insulation of a new electric heater for the committee room.

I would like to thank all who have contributed over the past 12 months, including Richard Kirby as outgoing PC representative and to Maryan Hanson as incoming PC Representative and Alison

Sutton, Parish Clerk for help and guidance with obtaining grants.

Financial Update

Year–end figures prepared by George Alderson, as at 1st August 2017 EVHMC had £16,313 in current account. This comprises £3,500 from Severn Waste Environmental Fund, £5,012 from the Rowlands Trust leaving £8,051.25 of income from Hall hire. The balance in the Nationwide Building Society stands at £4741.65.

The Committee wish to thank George for his on-going support in compiling these figures.

Caroline Marsden Acting Chair, EVHMC

The current Committee Officers stood down; Caroline Marsden (CM) Acting Chair, Kate Thompson (KT), Steph Griffiths (SG)

Election of new Committee Officers.

All Trustees from the previous 12 months agreed to remain apart from Kate Thompson. Kate was thanked for all her support and help over the past year. Caroline was also thanked for stepping in to take over as Acting Chair for the last 10 months.

Caroline Marsden was proposed as Chair by Carole Millin and seconded by Edwin Thompson. Carole Millin was proposed as Secretary by Caroline Marsden and seconded by Edwin Thompson. Tony Phillips was proposed as a new Committee Member and Trustee, seconded by Bob Aldred. Steph Griffiths to remain as Treasurer, key holder and bookings officer for the time being. Diane Lee to remain a minute taker administration/filing member without voting rights.

The new Committee Officers convened and continued with the Village Hall Management Committee ordinary meeting at 7.50pm.